Au revoir 2009: Relationships

29Dec09

I try to not use the phrase “I can’t wait for today to be over” because I know that today may be all I have. I also try to not get too caught up in new year’s resolutions because I think you can “start over” or set these goals for yourself at any time during the year. But I do understand how the new year gives us that extra kick in the butt to stick to our goals. With all that said, here’s why I’m ready for 2009 to be over and what I hope to do with my 2010.

2009 Relationships:

My best friend and her sister both got married in 2009 (six weeks apart to be exact). That was a bit traumatic for me. Leading up to the first wedding in June, I was in a relationship that was sizzling down. We’d been together for almost 3 years, I considered him my best friend but I didn’t see us getting married. The days after my friends bachelorette party, I broke up with my boyfriend. We agreed to stay friends… Well that didn’t work. We had our cell phones on the same plan and he hadn’t paid me for the last 2 years so I was a little annoyed when I saw he was using most of the minutes over the past month. I was even more annoyed when I saw he was using those minutes talking to the gal who introduced us (who also sent him texts saying “I think we belong together” while we were still dating) and a new gal (who is now his gf- they started dating 3 weeks after we broke up). I confronted him and demanded the money because I felt we needed to go our separate ways for good. Now, I can honestly say, I was blind in that relationship. I overlooked so much and am much happier where I’m at right now =)

2010 Relationships:

Something I’ve been trying over the past few months is to live the realtionship you have. Don’t jump ahead and think “if only he did this… if only he was like that”. Accept the relationship for what it is (this philosophy is thanks to Greg Behrendt). In case you all didn’t know, we gals are really good at getting ahead of ourselves. We sometimes meet a guy and spend our time dreaming up our wedding before we even know his middle name. I’m horribly guilty of this but I catch myself doing it now and bring myself back to reality.

When “realtionship 2006-2009” ended, I looked forward to dating again. I figured I’d be going out on lots of dates and living a fabulous single gal life- you know, dinners downtown, theater tickets, etc… Uh, yeah, NO! Guess what? Dating in real life is not like the movies. Those butterflies at the beginning are more like uncomfortable nausia and uncontrollable sweating. While getting ready for a date a few weeks ago, my heart was beating so fast, you could literally see my chest moving. It’s exciting but scary at the same time.

This past year of events has taught be so much about myself. It’s been full of life changing events that I know have all happened in the past 12 months for a reason. I entered 2009 in a relationship and it looks like I’ll be leaving it as a single gal. Hopefully, I come off as a confident, happy, single gal- because that’s what I am =)

The beautiful brides & the single gal

In the words of Carrie Bradshaw, “There are [relationships] that open you up to something new and exotic, those that are old and familiar, those that bring up lots of questions, those that bring you somewhere unexpected, those that bring you far from where you started, and those that bring you back. But the most exciting, challenging and significant relationship of all is the one you have with yourself. And if you can find someone to love the you, you love, well, that’s just fabulous”.

Up Next: Au revoir 2009: “Career”

No Responses Yet to “Au revoir 2009: Relationships”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

